Angebote zu "Fresh" (11 Treffer)

Fresh
13,99 € *
zzgl. 2,95 € Versand

Fresh: Sly & The Family Stone

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 18.09.2019
Zum Angebot
Fresh Air, Cam Simpson, Flynn McRoberts and Pet...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Journalists Cam Simpson and Flynn McRoberts and actor Peter Sarsgaard on this edition of Fresh Air. Simpson and McRoberts collaborated (along with journalist Liz Sly) on a three part special series in the Chicago Tribune. The series, ´´Tossed Out of America´´, is about the crackdown on Muslims who are illegal immigrants in the US. They were required to register with the government after the September 11th attacks. Now many of them are facing deportation or have already been deported. Actor Peter Sarsgaard portrays editor Chuck Lane in the new film Shattered Glass. Previously, Sarsgaard played opposite Hilary Swank and Chloe Sevigny in the film Boys Don´t Cry. (Broadcast Date: November 19, 2003) 1. Language: English. Narrator: Terry Gross. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/rt/whyy/031119/rt_whyy_031119_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
New Erotica for Feminists: Satirical Fantasies ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Based off of the viral McSweeney´s piece ´´New Erotica for Feminists´´He calls me into his office and closes the door... to promote me. He promotes me again and again. I am wild with ecstasy.Imagine a world where erotica was written by feminists: Their daydreams include equal pay, a gender-balanced Congress, and Tom Hardy arriving at their doorstep to deliver a fresh case of LaCroix every week. Both light-hearted and empowering, New Erotica for Feminists is a sly, satirical take on all the things that turn feminists on. From a retelling of Adam and Eve to tales of respectful Tinder dates, New Erotica for Feminists answers the question of ´´What do women really want?” with stories of power, equality, and an immortal Ruth Bader Ginsburg.Read by Soneela Nankani, with a Foreplay section read by author Carrie Wittmer 1. Language: English. Narrator: Soneela Nankani, Carrie Wittmer. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/peng/004229/bk_peng_004229_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
No More Poems!: A Book in Verse That Just Gets ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Acclaimed singer-songwriter Rhett Miller returns in a riotous collection of irreverent poems for modern families. In the tradition of Shel Silverstein, these poems bring a fresh new twist to the classic dilemmas of childhood as well as a perceptive eye to the foibles of modern family life. Full of clever wordplay - and toilet humor to spare - these 23 rhyming poems make for an ideal listening experience. Taking on the subjects of a bullying baseball coach and annoying little brothers with equally sly humor, renowned lyricist Rhett Miller´s clever verses will have the whole family cackling. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nick Offerman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hach/005036/bk_hach_005036_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
High Hearts (eBook, ePUB)
5,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From the celebrated author of Rubyfruit Jungle and Bingo comes a stirring novel of the Civil War, a tale of true love and mistaken identity. Brimming with colorful characters and vivid settings, High Hearts is Rita Mae Brown at her most ambitious and entertaining. April 12, 1861. Bright, gutsy and young, Geneva Chatfield marries Nash Hart in Albemarle County, Virginia, the same day Fort Sumter´s guns fire the start of the Civil War. Five days later she loses him as Nash joins the Confederate Army. Geneva, who is known as the best rider since Light Horse Harry Lee, cuts her hair, dons a uniform, enlists as ´´Jimmy Chatfield,´´ then rides off to be with her beloved Nash. But sensitive Nash recoils in horror from the violence of war, while Geneva is invigorated by the chase and the fight. Can she be all the man her husband isn´t? She´ll sure as hell try. But there is a complication, and his name is Major ´´Mars´´ Vickers. This macho major, to his own shock and amazement, finds himself inexplicably attracted to the young soldier named ´´Jimmy.´´ And this is only the beginning of a novel that moves with sureness and grace from the ferocity of battle to the struggle on the homefront, and brings passion and sly humor to a story of dawning love. High Hearts is a penetrating, delightful and sweeping tale that gives fresh life to a fascinating time.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot
The State We´re In: Maine Stories , Hörbuch, Di...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

We build worlds for ourselves wherever we go, writes Ann Beattie. The State We´re In, her magnificent new collection of linked stories, is about how we live in the places we have chosen - or been chosen by. It´s about the stories we tell our families, our friends, and ourselves, the truths we may or may not see, how our affinities unite or repel us, and where we look for love. Many of these stories are set in Maine, but The State We´re In is about more than geographical location and certainly is not a picture postcard of the coastal state. Some characters have arrived by accident; others are trying to get out. The collection opens, closes, and is interlaced with stories that focus on Jocelyn, a wryly disaffected teenager living with her aunt and uncle while attending summer school. As in life, the narratives of other characters interrupt Jocelyn´s, sometimes challenging, sometimes embellishing her view. Riveting, witty, sly, idiosyncratic, and bold, these stories describe a state of mind, a manner of being - now. A Beattie story, says Margaret Atwood, is, ´´like a fresh bulletin from the front: we snatch it up, eager to know what´s happening out there on the edge of that shifting and dubious no-man´s-land known as interpersonal relations.´´ The State We´re In is a fearless exploration of contemporary life by a brilliant writer whose fiction startles as it illuminates. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Cassandra Campbell. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/007155/bk_sans_007155_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Sour Heart: Stories , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 600min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City - for listeners of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz. A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant experience in America. Her stories cut across generations and continents, moving from the fraught halls of a public school in Flushing, Queens, to the tumultuous streets of Shanghai, China, during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s. In the absence of grown-ups, latchkey kids experiment on each other until one day the experiments turn violent; an overbearing mother abandons her artistic aspirations to come to America but relives her glory days through karaoke; and a shy loner struggles to master English so she can speak to God. Narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants who fled imperiled lives as artists back home only to struggle to stay afloat - Dumpster diving for food and scamming Atlantic City casino buses to make a buck - these seven stories showcase Zhang´s compassion, moral courage, and a perverse sense of humor reminiscent of Portnoy´s Complaint. A darkly funny and intimate rendering of girlhood, Sour Heart examines what it means to belong to a family and to find your home, leave it, reject it, and return again. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Greta Jung, Jenny Zhang, full cast. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/005225/bk_rand_005225_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Going Dutch: A Novel , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 575min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A sly and humorous portrait of modern relationships and an urban comedy of manners in the vein of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P, James Gregor’s Going Dutch finds a struggling gay male graduate student in an unexpected - yet stirring - relationship with his brilliant female classmate. Exhausted by dead-end forays in the gay dating scene, surrounded constantly by friends but deeply lonely in New York City, and drifting into academic abyss, 20-something graduate student Richard has plenty of sources of anxiety. But at the forefront is his crippling writer’s block, which threatens daily to derail his graduate funding and leave Richard poor, directionless, and desperately single.Enter Anne: his brilliant classmate who offers to ´´help” Richard write his papers in exchange for his company, despite Richard’s fairly obvious sexual orientation. Still, he needs her help, and it doesn’t hurt that Anne has folded Richard into her abundant lifestyle. What begins as an initially transactional relationship blooms gradually into something more complex.But then a one-swipe-stand with an attractive, successful lawyer named Blake becomes serious, and Richard suddenly finds himself unable to detach from Anne, entangled in her web of privilege, brilliance, and, oddly, her unabashed acceptance of Richard’s flaws. As the two relationships reach points of serious commitment, Richard soon finds himself on a romantic and existential collision course - one that brings about surprising revelations.Going Dutch is an incisive portrait of relationships in an age of digital romantic abundance, but it’s also a heartfelt and humorous exploration of love and sexuality and a poignant meditation on the things emotionally ravenous people seek from and do to each other. James Gregor announces himself with levity and a fresh, exciting voice in his debut. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Michael David Axtell. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/009396/bk_sans_009396_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 31.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Impossibly , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 378min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

With the literary inventiveness of Paul Auster and the dark absurdity of Kafka, Laird Hunt’s impressive debut is a smart, funny noir that is as fittingly spare as a bare ceiling light. Deadpan delivery and a sly eye for detail characterize The Impossibly’s anonymous narrator, and when the nameless operative botches an assignment for the clandestine organization that employs him, everyone in his life—including his girlfriend—is revealed to be either true-blue, double operative, or both. The narrator’s final chilling assignment—to identify his own assassin—masterfully dismantles the reader’s own analysis of the evidence. This is a fresh, daring love story set in a world of crime and deep confusion, told by an unreliable and not-unhumorous individual, who is more interested in love than in crime and is clearly ill-equipped for both. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Peter Yearsley. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/iamb/000010/bk_iamb_000010_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot