Angebote zu "Exist" (3 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Why Does the World Exist?
10,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´Why is there a world rather than nothing at all?´ remains the most curious and most enduring of all metaphysical mysteries. Moving away from the narrower paths of Christopher Hitchens, Roger Penrose and Stephen Hawking, the celebrated essayist Jim Holt now enters this fascinating debate with his broad, lively and deeply informed narrative that traces all our efforts to grasp the origins of the universe. With sly humour and a highly original personal approach Holt takes on the role of cosmological detective. Suggesting that we might have been too narrow in limiting our suspects to God and the Big Bang, he tracks down, among others, an eccentric Oxford philosopher, a Nobel Laureate physicist, a French Buddhist monk, and John Updike just before he died, to pursue this cosmic puzzle from every angle. As he pieces together a solution - while offering useful insights into time, consciousness, and eternity - he sheds fascinating new light on the meaning of existence. A New York Times bestseller on first publication, this new paperback edition provides a much-needed new take on history´s greatest conundrum, in the vein of previous bestsellers like Michael Brooks´ 13 Things that Don´t Make Sense.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Foxheart , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 629min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved, even if it means risking your heart. Full of magic, adventure, and an original and compelling cast of characters, Foxheart is a fast-paced fantasy reminiscent of Howl´s Moving Castle. Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox - and Sly Boots, the shy boy who lets her live in his attic when it´s too cold to sleep on the rooftops. It´s a lonesome life, but Quicksilver is used to being alone. When you are alone, no one can hurt you. No one can abandon you. Then one day Quicksilver discovers that she can perform magic. Real magic. The kind that isn´t supposed to exist anymore. Magic is forbidden, but Quicksilver nevertheless wants to learn more. With real magic she could become the greatest thief who ever lived. She could maybe even find her parents. What she does find, however, is much more complicated and surprising. Acclaimed author Claire Legrand´s stunning and original novel will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Billie Fulford Brown. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/005583/bk_harp_005583_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It
17,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of 2009-- now adapted into the feature film Certain Women, starring Kristen Stewart-- award-winning writer Maile Meloy´s short stories explore complex lives in an austere landscape with the clear-sightedness that first endeared her to readers. Don´t miss her new novel, Do Not Become Alarmed. Meloy´s first return to short stories since her critically acclaimed debut, Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It is an extraordinary new work from one of the most promising writers of the last decade. Eleven unforgettable new stories demonstrate the emotional power and the clean, assured style that have earned Meloy praise from critics and devotion from readers. Propelled by a terrific instinct for storytelling, and concerned with the convolutions of modern love and the importance of place, this collection is about the battlefields-and fields of victory-that exist in seemingly harmless spaces, in kitchens and living rooms and cars. Set mostly in the American West, the stories feature small-town lawyers, ranchers, doctors, parents, and children, and explore the moral quandaries of love, family, and friendship. A ranch hand falls for a recent law school graduate who appears unexpectedly- and reluctantly-in his remote Montana town. A young father opens his door to find his dead grandmother standing on the front step. Two women weigh love and betrayal during an early snow. Throughout the book, Meloy examines the tensions between having and wanting, as her characters try to keep hold of opposing forces in their lives: innocence and experience, risk and stability, fidelity and desire. Knowing, sly, and bittersweet, Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It confirms Maile Meloy´s singular literary talent. Her lean, controlled prose, full of insight and unexpected poignancy, is the perfect complement to her powerfully moving storytelling.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe